The Real Meaning Of “No" By Meghan Trainor.

Modupe Iwashokun
5 min readAug 26, 2023

--

I’m beginning to notice that most of Meghan Trainor songs talks about the life of ladies. One of the songs I enjoy the most is NO( Untouchable). It is like a teen song for girls and the song is also like an acted drama or something like music drama which center the interaction between a boy and girl. I think it is so interesting because it can help ladies to stand up for themselves when boys try to pressurize them especially for teens. NO is a soothing and vibing song that is really inspirational that helps ladies. If you have listened to it, you will need to know the secrets behind its success because it has such a interesting story to tell and if you have not listened to it, I advise you to listen to it especially the ladies. You can check an any Music app for the song. This songs talks about the interaction between a boy and a girl about a intimate relationship with each other. Before the songs started , the boy tells the girl about having an intimate relationship with each other but the girl says “NO” and this was how this song started. The song began with the response of the girl and it is also about the response of the girl. Let’s look at the meaning of each lyrics to make it more understandable.

NO Meghan Trainor
NO Symbol

I think it’s so cute and I think it’s so sweet - The girl starts by complimenting his request.

How you let your friends encourage you to try and talk to me - The girl tries to tell him how his friends pressurize him to talk to the girl because she had been noticing it when she is always with him.

But let stop you there, oh, before you speak- The girl continues whereby making an interruption so he will not continue to speak. She wanted him to hear her full response before he can continue to speak.

Nah to the ah to the no, no, no. My name is no, my sign is no, my number is no- The girl responded saying ‘no’ in a stylish manner so it won’t look like she is being hateful to him. She also explained that she can’t share her personal details with him.

You need to let it go (3x)- The girl is telling the boy to forget about it. It is also saying that he should take it away from his mind.

First you gonna say you ain’t runnin' game- This one means that the girl tells the boy that he’ll say he is not dragging her into a mess trying to make her fooled by his instincts.

Thinking I’m believing every word- The girl continues her response by saying she can’t be easily fooled by him.

Call me beautiful, so original- She is trying to say that boys normally calls girls ‘beautiful’ or being attractive.

Telling me I’m not like other girls- The boy tells her she is not like evey other girl who go out to parties, play with boys or easily attracted.

I was in my zone before you came along- She responded back to him say ing that she was on her own and totally fine like that before he started disturbing and following her which is annoying her.

Now I’m thinking maybe you should go- She wants him to go away from her in order to avoid problems. She is not being hateful to him but she doesn’t want to be with him every time.

Blah, Blah, Blah- She explains that she doesn’t care about it.

All my ladies listen up- She also draws the attention to all of her female friends to advise them

If that boy ain’t giving up- This is what she says in her advise them. She is saying that if a boy is not giving up on you or leaving you.

Lick your lips and swing your hips- She continues in her statement that if a boy is annoying you, just walk away in a stylish manner. The Yourabas call it ‘shakara’.

Girl, all you gotta say is- What you have to say is.

My name is no, my sign is no, my number is no- This is what you have to say. You have to say no.

Thank you in advance, i don’t wanna dance- This goes back to the conversation of the boy and the girl. She says that she compliment his request again but she doesn’t want to dance with him. This scene goes to a part like a club or night party.

I don’t need your hands all over me- She tries to make it clear to him that she doesn’t wanna dance or go with him.

If i want a man, then i’ma get man but it’s never my priority- She says that she can have man to be with but she does not want now.

I was in my zone before you came along- She was on her own and was perfectly fine until someone came as a disturbance.

Don’t want you to take this personal- She doesn’t want to take the matter too serious or something responsible. She doesn’t want to be too close to him

Untouchable,Untouchable- As a girl who doesnt take boys too serious and she doesnt allow any boy get in her way. Boys will begin to see that she is a dangerous person not like danger but she doesn’t spare you if you give her trouble.

I see this song like a acted drama because the lyrics looks like it. I really enjoy this song because it is vibing, the beat is good, based on girl issues or matter, meaningful and interesting. It is so enjoyable i highly recommend this song when you feel like dancing or standing up to soneone. Download music apps like Boom play, Apple Music, Spotify, Youtube Music, Deezer etc and check for the song ‘NO( UNTOUCHABLE)’. I really hope this article gives you a simple and interesting meaning of the song ‘NO’. I would like to see your comments. Thank you.

--

--